Changes at Rhode Island Pride; a new president after over 20 years

November 21, 2013

pride logo

Elections were held at last night’s RI Pride Board meeting. In a surprise upset, several long-standing board members chose not to be included in the final slate, allowing a substantial change to take place.

The last-minute nature of the changes were evident on Facebook, as candidates Kurt Bagley and Jen Stevens posted campaign speeches there just yesterday. In a conversation Wednesday afternoon with a long-standing Pride volunteer, uncertainty prevailed. “I really don’t know what is going to happen,” she said, “or who will be on the ballot.”

In the end, the new board represents a mix of new and returning members. Those who remained are Anthony DeRose, Gwen Howard, James Todd and Rick Collier, Treasurer. Newly elected are Kurt Bagley as President, Jennifer Stevens as Secretary, Scott Vieira and Will Tregaskis. Emily Douglas left her post as Secretary and was elected Vice-President. Remaining members have a year left to serve; new members were elected to a two-year term.

Options congratulates the new board members and thanks those stepping down, most notably outgoing Board President Rodney Davis, who has served in that capacity for 23 years.